Review: Batman & Robin #7

The past few issues were a bit boring, at least when they focused on Nobody’s history.  This issue though is amazing, start to finish.  To such a degree, that I’ll be shocked and apalled if fellow read/RANT member ikeebear rates this lower than a 4 (really, I’d say 4.5) for his upcoming ‘One Sentence Review, Part 27′. 

SPOILER WARNING! – seriously

You try to murder my son and expect to live?!

The real prize in this issue I think goes to the art team.  Gleason’s art colored by Kalisz I feel is what really drives through the emotion to pull off Tomasi’s story.  The urgency and desperation of Batman to reach Robin in time just bleeds off the pages from the first panel.  And when we get to the point where he finally reaches Nobody and Damian (pictured right), it helps Tomasi sell the idea that someone as against killing as Batman is, actually means he is out for Nobody’s blood.  Seriously, chills ran through me seeing that full page panel.

The upcoming fight, which lasts nearly the entire issue, simply pushes the fact that Bruce really may be out for Morgan’s life here.  It seems like a long time since I’ve seen Bruce this determined and vicious while facing an opponent.  Despite this, Morgan does a good job holding his own, and for a moment even gains the upper hand.  That is until Batman turns the tides by throwing Nobody into the tub of acid and holding him in it, keeping Nobody submerged.

This is probably the first time Damian has ever seen his father in such a way.  The first time for him to see that despite all Bruce has done and accomplished, he’s still a human.  Can be pushed to such an extent that before to Damian would have seemed an impossible feat.  Really, had Bruce not looked over and seen the expression on Damian’s face as he watched, I actually think that Batman would have killed Nobody.

While this is an amazing issue, it is not without faults.  The first being Batman crashing into the boat Nobody and Damian were on and somehow containing that crash perfectly on their deck without killing either of the two or even badly hurting them.  Also, there are quite a few puns Tomasi uses with Morgan going by the name Nobody.  Not quite enough to put me off, but enough to still feel over done.  Otherwise, this comic is really a gem that is really worth the read.

read/RANT

9 Responses to Review: Batman & Robin #7

  1. ikeebear says:

    OSR spoiler … you’re right. I agree with everything you have written. I think all the great money shots from Gleason push this up to a 4.5 in spite of those slight flaws you mentioned. Another that bugged me was the panel where Nobody stabbed Bruce in the back with his knives. I don’t really know how that happened based on the panels.

    • xxadverbxx says:

      I did pause a moment there with the knives, but I figured the knives had those circles on the end so he probably had them on his fingers sticking out the side his palms were so all he needed to do was reach behind Batman and grasp him almost like he would be hugging the man. At least, thats how I figured it went.

      I had actually driven back to campus though just so I could use the scanner for this review. :P

    • I had the same take on that panel–I stared at it for a good minute or so trying to figure out the mechanics of that would have worked. Lol.

      • xxadverbxx says:

        That long, eh? Maybe its just my time having read Naruto over the years that I noticed the loops and how they could be used.

      • Ouch. What’s the point of a comic if you don’t appreciate the art? I never watched Naruto, so the physics of the situation didn’t seem to correlate very well from panel to panel. It most-likely works great on film, or in animation though. Definitely a good review though. The only bit a didn’t agree with is your statement about the prior issues being slow.

      • xxadverbxx says:

        The “Nobody Backstory” wasn’t that riveting, and it got a similar statement in the one sentence reviews. I haven’t watched much Naruto either, just keep up to date with the manga. Their use of kunai though and seeing them twirled on fingers at times is what helped.

        And I thought you were staring at it for ten minutes trying to figure it out, not to appreciate it.

      • I enjoyed the “Nobody” backstory. It wasn’t supposed to be about the introducing a crazy new villain it was about the the relationship between Batman & Robin, specifically Batman & his son. If you focus on the shallow bits yeah it would come off as boring. Personally, I’m not a manga fan in the slightest, so I haven’t stayed in the loop in the slightest. As for staring at the page for “ten minutes”–I said “a minute or so,” not ten.

      • xxadverbxx says:

        Oh… hmmm… well it seems I’m seeing things again then. Well, not the first time for that.

        And I know that at least it was partially to get off the relationship between the two and partially to explain why Batman has been so strict, but it still felt rather predictable. If you enjoyed even those parts though, well I can’t really chastise you for that or anything.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,854 other followers

