Review: Hell Yeah #1

I’ve never been a reader of Imagine comics.  Never even thought about checking them out, yet when I saw Hell Yeah: The Last Generation of Heroes on the shelf on the 7th, I just had to grab it.  Maybe it was just the odd title, or the cover art.  To be honest, I think it was the “KA-POW, asshole!”  Whatever it was, something made me pick this title up, and it was worth it.

To be blunt, this issue wasn’t a huge ‘OMG AMAZING’ comic that blew my socks off, but Keatinge handles it very well for a first issue.  The entire thing has a steady feel to it while we meet our main character, learn a little about his life, the history of this world, and also meet a few supporting members.  Nothing gets rushed here.  Never does it feel like any page is filled with too much text.  For that matter, most pages have very little text on them.  Keatinge handles everything nicely with few words, yet still getting across just about all the information we need to set everything up.  Szymanowicz in the mean time fills the pages with art wonderfully covered by Lewis.

Now I don’t want to give the actual story away, but I will say the following.  For one, Ben Day is apparently suppose to be a hero – though it seems clear he has no desire to really be that.  Not the typical hero at least.  More so, he’s just a normal young adult going to school, concerts, hanging out with friends.  The only real time we actually see any motivation to be a hero is near the very end of the comic, which (to me at least) feels a bit of a cliche cliffhanger.

If you can manage to get your hands on it, well I suggest you grab it.  But then, that might be difficult for Imagine’s own website claims the issue quickly sold out!  Don’t worry, they do state they are printing a second run that will be out on April 4th along with the second issue.

Spandexless – another review if you want to check it out.

read/RANT

4 Responses to Review: Hell Yeah #1

  1. wwayne says:

    Another good Image comic is the brand – new “Fatale.” It really reminds me the old noir movies directed by Fritz Lang, that I simply adore, but it’s a very nice read even for those who never even heard about them, because of its clever stories and pleasantly classic drawings.

  2. Harv says:

    Haven’t read it yet, but it sounds like an Invincible and Kick Ass rip-off.

    • xxadverbxx says:

      I don’t know much about Invincible, but I’m still wondering why you think it sounds like a rip off of those?

      • Harv says:

        Invincible is about a teenage kid whose dad is a superhero. Of course, there’s a lot more than that, but in the beginning that was where the story headed.

        In fairness, I finally read the first issue of HY a couple weeks ago, and I didn’t necessarily get the rip off feeling while reading it. But a couple weeks later, I couldn’t tell you what happened in the first issue. Not a memorable book for me I guess.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,854 other followers

