DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 8

 

Apologies for running so late this week – real life, what’s it good for – but here, at last, are the final one sentence reviews for the New 52’s #2 issues.  As usual, each comic is scored out of five and at the end I have a cumulative leader board (averaging the scores of each title) to show which are consistently excellent, which are on the rise, and which are circling the drain. 

 I have also reviewed this week’s limited series, although (as in the past) I haven’t included it in the leader board.

 Warning, there could be spoilers ahead (although I try to avoid them).

Justice League Dark #2
Thank God for this beautiful issue … the relative low quality of the week’s comics was getting me down, but #2 succeeds in making magic seem dangerous (to use as well as to fight against) and sets this title among the best of the New 52 – 4.5

.

Aquaman #2
A nicely paced, good-looking issue, #2 ticks most boxes for me, with a bit of good characterisation, a splash of action and more exposure for the denizens of the Trench – 4

.

Blackhawks #2
While I’m still working out who all the characters are and exactly what’s going on, this action-packed issue did a fine job of entertaining me as I slowly get up to speed – 3.5

.

I, Vampire #2
I’m a bit conflicted because, while I love the tone and feel of the artwork, because of it I had some trouble working out who was who and what was going on at some points in this issue, which regardless continues to be very interesting and fun to read  – 3.5

.

The Flash #2
Is it just me, or does The Flash in this issue seem like he hasn’t developed in terms of his powers (or even personally) AT ALL since Justice League #2, which is supposedly set five years earlier … there are some cool ideas in this comic but it just didn’t gel together for me and, as I already hinted, it seems like the writers have positioned the story awkwardly between being a beginning and being interesting for established readers  – 3

.

Teen Titans #2
I won’t even get into the “is this the first incarnation of the Teen Titans or not” quandary … so, while I’ll not completely digging the tone of Lobdell’s TT (it still just feels more like an crica-1995 Image title to me), this issue was enjoyable enough for a passing grade – 3

.

Batman – The Dark Knight #2
Still a bit derivative but much better than #1 (I wonder how much of the debut issue Jenkins actually wrote) there were still some irritating elements, such as Damien not “sounding” quite right, but nothing bad enough to derail the issue – 3

.

All Star Western #2
Free of the incessant psychobabble narration of #1, I enjoyed the main story in #2 more (the back-up story was okay too), but found the pacing a bit uneven and the sinister mystery that I enjoyed last issue was too hastily  dragged out into full light – 3

.

Legion – Secret Origin #1
I can’t fathom why, in the second month of the New 52 relaunch, there’s a Secret Origin mini for a franchise that already has two titles … surly this (albeit decently written and illustrated) comic should have been Legion of Super-Heroes #1 – 3

.

Superman #2
I confess that I started to skim read this one when the big fight started, which is a shame because the beginning of #2 addressed my main complaint with the debut issue that there wasn’t enough of a focus on Superman (here he’s on almost every page and in most panels), but like in #1 the story shifts into “telling instead of showing”-mode when an invisible alien turns up – 2.5

.

Voodoo #2
I just didn’t really care about anything that happened in this issue … maybe part of that was because it was one of the last issues I read in a week of relatively poor comics, but #1 also failed to WOW me so this really needed to go somewhere I was interested in to hook me – 2.5

.

Green Lantern – New Guardians #2
Easily the most disappointing comic of the week for me (after a strong debut issue), #2 is a mess with characters either dumbed-down or arguably even acting out of character … and I have to admit that I hate when an issue has more than one penciller – 2

.

The Fury of Firestorm #2
Is it too soon to hope for a reboot, because while the new direction takes Firestorm in some interesting directions (I don’t mind the idea of two Firestorms), a lot of what I’m reading in this comic would have to improve to be considered dross …  I can’t believe Simone is co-writing – 2

.

The Savage Hawkman #2
I find this title a real struggle to read and #2 wasn’t any easier to consume than the debut issue … I can see this going somewhere interesting eventually but like riding in the backseat of a VW bug cross-country to get to Disneyland, the destination probably won’t make up for the crappy journey – 2

.

If you haven’t already, check out previous weeks here:
Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Please note, since a title is only as good as its last issue, the books are ranked firstly by their average score, then their most recent score (shown in brackets), and the number of issues is the final number.

LEADER BOARD
1.  Animal Man  4.5
 (4.5)  2
=2.  Justice League Dark  4.25  (4.5)  2
=2.  Swamp Thing  4.25  (4.5)  2
4.  Batwoman  4.25 (4)  2
=5.  Aquaman  (4)  2
=5.  Green Lantern Corps  4
 (4)  2
=7.  Batman  3.75
 (4)  2
=7.  Demon Knights  3.75  (4)  2
=7.  Green Lantern  3.75
 (4)  2
=10.  Batman and Robin  3.75
 (3.5)  2
=10.  Birds of Prey  3.75 (3.5)  2
=10.  Resurrection Man  3.75
 (3.5)  2
=10.  Wonder Woman  3.75
 (3.5)  2
=14.  Action Comics  3.5  (4)  2

=14.  Batwing  3.5  (4)  2
=16.  Blue Beetle  3.5
 (3.5)  2
=16.  Detective Comics  3.5  (3.5)  2
=16.  I, Vampire  3.5  (3.5)  2
=16.  Justice League   3.5
 (3.5)  2
=16.  Nightwing  3.5  (3.5)  2
=16.  Supergirl  3.5
 (3.5)  2

22.  Static Shock  3.5  (3)  2
=23.  Blackhawks  3.25  (3.5)  2
=23.  Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E.  3.25
 (3.5)  2
=25.  Batgirl  3.25
 (3)  2
=25.  The Flash  3.25  (3)  2
=27.  Men of War  3  (3)  2
=27.  Suicide Squad  3
 (3)  2
=27.  Teen Titans  (3)  2
30.  Green Lantern – New Guardians  (2)  2
31.  Stormwatch  2.75  (3.5)  2
=32.  All Star Western  2.75  (3)  2
=32.  Captain Atom  2.75
 (3)  2
=32.  Deathstroke  2.75
 (3)  2
=35.  Superman  2.75 (2.5)  2
=35.  Justice League International  2.75  (2.5)  2
=35.  Mister Terrific  2.75  (2.5)  2
=35.  O.M.A.C.  2.75  (2.5)  2
39.  Superboy  2.75
 (2)  2
=40.  Batman – The Dark Knight  2.5  (3)  2
=40.  Catwoman  2.5
 (3)  2
=40.  DC Universe Presents  2.5
 (3)  2
=40.  Red Lanterns  2.5  (3)  2
44.  Voodoo  2.5  (2.5)  2
45.  Red Hood and the Outlaws  2.25  (2.5)  2

46.  Legion Lost  2.25
 (2)  2
=47.  Savage Hawkman  (2)  2
=47.  The Fury of Firestorm  (2)  2
49.  Green Arrow  2  (1.5)  2

=50.  Grifter   1.75
 (2.5)  2
=50.  Hawk and Dove  1.75  (2.5)  2
52.  Legion of Super-Heroes  1.75  (2)  2

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,856 other followers

