DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 2

Time poor?  Hate long reviews?  Love lists?  If yes, this article series is for you.

I provide one sentence reviews of each of the New 52 titles.  Each is scored out of five and at the end I’m going to have a cumulative leader board (averaging the scores of each title) to show which are consistently excellent, which are on the rise, and which are circling the drain.

In Part 2, I take a look at the batch of DC comics that became available on 14 September.

Obligatory spoiler warning.  Blah.  Blah.  Blah.

Batwoman #1
A more beautiful comic would be hard to find, with Williams showcasing the full potential of the medium and showing great artistic innovation, and that – coupled with an amazing story about the heroine’s haunting, new case – has made an instant fan out of me (I ran out and bought ‘Elegy’ to educate myself on Kate Kane) – 4.5

Batman and Robin #1
Writer Tomasi and artist Gleason present a comic that is essentially flawless, with great dramatic tension between the title characters (expertly milking the father-son issues), good action and an enigmatic new villain named ‘Nobody’ – 4

.
Resurrection Man #1
A true gem of a comic, this opening issue was compelling, with a relatable hero that I can’t wait to read more about … why didn’t I read this title years ago? – 4

.

.
Green Lantern #1
Not feeling like a real #1 or a good jumping on point, this picks up exactly where GL Vol. 4 #67 left off, with the villainous Sinestro a GL and heroic Hal Jordan thrown out of the Corps, but I was more or less enjoying Vol. 4 and this issue progresses the story in an interesting direction – 3.5

Suicide Squad #1
Interesting and effective introductions of most of the characters (including ones I wasn’t familiar with), made this surprisingly good, but lots of fans are hurting because of the loss of their beloved Secret Six, so this has some big shoes to fill – 3

Superboy #1
A mixed offering, this shakes up the Superboy mythos so much (pretty much a complete reboot) that I was absolutely hooked and can’t wait to read more, but that feeling could be fleeting – 3.5


Demon Knights #1
This issue reminded me of 1996’s ‘Medieval Spawn/Witchblade’ (which I enjoyed quite a bit) and has lots of potential after strong introductions of the cast, but some of the dialogue was a mismatch for the setting and tone – 3.5


Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E. #1
Perhaps my expectations were too high (especially after reading Lemire’s amazing Animal Man #1), but this exposition and text heavy opening issue just never reached the level of fun and excitement that I had hoped it would … even though it was still a solid issue – 3

Mister Terrific #1
It gets off to a terrific start (hardy-har-har), with Michael Holt thrust into the action from page one and defined perfectly over the first two-thirds of the issue, but then it takes a left turn at Albuquerque near the end that leaves you feeling confused and a bit cheated … it could have been an outstanding debut issue – 3

Deathstroke #1
I was sceptical going in and the so-so debut issue didn’t do a lot to disabuse me of that, as I think it needed to be balls-to-the-wall and this had too many flat spots, even if there was a somewhat satisfying twist at the end (I was worried where it was heading) – 2.5

Legion Lost #1
This issue was intriguing (and I look forward to reading the next issue) but ultimately very confusing, as I wasn’t sure who these character were and what they were really trying to do, and the artwork wasn’t Woods’ best – 2.5

 

Red Lanterns #1
Benes’ art is pretty (although he has his detractors) but totally mismatches the tone, while the dialogue and narration seems really off (Atrocitus to Krona’s corpse: “In many ways … we are like lovers.” WTF?!?!?), and the story of Atrocitus suffering a crisis of faith before reaffirming his vengeful mission just seems pointless and unnecessary – 2

Grifter #1
The only grift here is getting people to buy such a crap comic, which is arguably worse than last week’s Hawk and Dove #1 … not a good start – 1


Check Out – Part 1


LEADER BOARD
=1.  Animal Man  4.5
=1.  Batwoman  4.5
=3.  Batman and Robin  4
=3.  Resurrection Man   4
=3.  Static Shock  4
=3.  Swamp Thing  4
=7.  Batgirl   3.5
=7.  Demon Knights  3.5
=7.  Detective Comics  3.5
=7.  Green Lantern  3.5
=7.  Justice League   3.5
=7.  Superboy  3.5
=13.  Action Comics  3
=13.  Batwing  3
=13.  Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E.  3
=13.  Justice League International  3
=13.  Men of War  3
=13.  Mr Terrific  3
=13.  O.M.A.C.  3
=13.  Suicide Squad  3
=21.  Deathstroke  2.5
=21.  Green Arrow  2.5
=21.  Legion Lost  2.5
=24.  Red Lanterns  2
=24.  Stormwatch  2
=26.  Grifter   1
=26.  Hawk and Dove  1

15 Responses to DC New 52 – One Sentence Reviews, Part 2

  1. lebeau says:

    I love the one sentence reviews so much, I’m not even going to call you out for sneaking additional sentences into the parentheses.

    I’m glad you enjoyed RM as much as I did. Not everyone has been so enthusiastic. Both you and Cal mentioned the exposition in Frankenstein. For whatever reason, it didn’t bother me. I was having too much fun.

    I know what you mean about Mr. Terrific. I was torn. The end seems out of the blue. My assumption is that Michael was possessed or mind controlled like the fella he was investigating. But that could have been better communicated. If that’s not the case, the ending twist is totally out of left field.

    Also, I had some misgivings about some of the characterizations in the book. Wallace throws race in the reader’s face unnecessarily a couple of times. And he has two strong female characters who immediately engage in a petty catfight over Mr. Terrific. Left a sour taste in my mouth.

    Which is a shame, because other than that, it was much better than I expected. Honestly, I haven’t written the book up yet because I’m so torn.

    I’m also torn on Suicide Squad. I didn’t think this was an especially good issue. But it was light years better than I expected. As such, I feel obligated to stick around and see if it improves.

    I didn’t care for Grifter either, but I didn’t dislike it as much as you did. It just left me a little cold. I was surprised to see that Cal actually preferred it to RM which told a similar story.

    All in all, a pretty decent week, doncha think?

    • ikeebear says:

      I thought it was a great week. Lots of tasty morsels.

      Edit – I should say too that, yeah, I know I fudge it a little but “Two Sentence Reviews” is a crap title. Hahaha.

  2. xxadverbxx says:

    I mentioned this in the Week One review, but there were points I loved the art in Batwoman, and other points I nearly hated it. My biggest turn off was just how freaking ghostly Kate looked, especially out of the costume (in it there wasn’t much skin shown to have that coloring get to me). Also, did anyone else notice the slight continuation error in the art?

  3. guglio08 says:

    I’m curious as to what you enjoyed about Batman and Robin #1. Compared to the original B&R #1, it was pretty awful. Jarring shifts in tone, a complete lack of understanding of Damian, lines such as “Shut your mouth” from Bruce and logical inconsistencies (such as the goons being able to use the gyro vehicle thing) to facilitate the plot left me wanting to punch Tomasi in the face.

    • ikeebear says:

      Perhaps I need to go back and educate myself (as I’m doing with Batwoman).

      I really didn’t like Morrison’s Batman and Son storyline and RIP didn’t really do it for me either, so I actually skipped everything after (I know, I know … you loved that stuff and I’m a reprobate for boycotting it).

      I really did enjoy B&R #1, though. It was very well structured and I thought it flowed nicely. It made me impatient to read the next one and I think that’s the best indicator of a really good issue.

      Also, having enjoyed Tomais and Gleason on Green Lantern Corps, I think I’m a fan of those guys.

      • lebeau says:

        I’m a huge Gleason fan. Tomasi is hit and miss, but he has a pretty good batting average. I think a lot of times his pacing was off on GL becuase he had to pad out until the next big GL event. I think that happened to Bedard too. They were sometimes hamstrung waiting for some major plot point or story beat in the main book. They were allowed to hint at certain things. But the big payoffs always happened in someone else’s book.

      • guglio08 says:

        You never read Morrison’s Batman & Robin!?!?

        Morrison’s Batman saga is the best long-form Batman story I’ve ever read. Without spoiling it, the end of Batman and Robin #15 was probably one of the best climaxes of any piece of fiction ever.

      • lebeau says:

        Gotta agree. I thought this was okay. Competent stuff. But Morrison’s run was masterful!

    • lebeau says:

      I actually really liked this issue. I thought Tomasi handle the Bruce/Damian relationship very well. And I liked the lightening of Bruce’s tone as he settled into fatherhood. The story itself was pretty mundane. But I enjoyed the character work and the strong art.

    • xxadverbxx says:

      I enjoyed it too, and I did read all of Batman & Robin featuring Dick and Damian. But you can read through my review to see mostly why I enjoyed it.

  4. ikeebear says:

    I should say too, that I really consider a 3 and above a passing grade (2.5 might be technically a pass, but who really wants to fork out money for a comic that’s just okay). So that means that 20 of 27 issue so far have been decent in my book, which is a good result by DC.

  5. ikeebear says:

    Having re-reade Demon Knights, I think it deserves a 3.5.

  6. Simon Nelson says:

    Personally I didn’t think grifter deserved a one but it is one of the weaker offerings. It’s strange that he’s got his own headlining comic but others didn’t?

  7. xxadverbxx says:

    You were quoted in Wiki for Grifter here! Nice work (and I know, this is a long ways out).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grifter_%28comics%29#cite_note-11

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,855 other followers

