Review: Amazing Spider-man 642

All I have to say about ASM 641 is this: “Was that really necessary?”  Oy vey!  It made my head hurt!

Fortunately, that mess is all wrapped up in a tidy package (with a flip of the bird to most Peter/MJ fans out there) and we are all told to move on.  Which is a good idea.  Because ASM 642 is a vastly superior comic book.

I’ll get my opinions out of the way up front.  I loved the Mark Waid script.  He nails what an old-school Spider-man story should be.  I’m less fond of the Paul Azaceta art.  It’s very stylized.  And there’s nothing wrong with that.  It would be perfect for some independent book about a put-upon photographer.  If this book were about hapless Peter Parker and how unlucky he is at life, the art would be a good fit.

But the book is only half about Peter’s failures at love and business.  It’s also a super hero comic book.  And I like my super hero comics a little less, um, sweaty.

My personal artistic preferences out of the way, Mark Waid writes one mean Spider-man story.  The issue opens with a meeting of Spidey’s rogues gallery.  The figure who called the meeting remains obscured in shadows.  The other villains recognize the shadowy figure but our disturbed by whatever has happened to him.

With the set-up handled, we move on to the trials and tribulations of poor Peter Parker.  Seems Pete’s strapped for dough.  Naturally he has his own sense of warped guilt and J. Jonah Jameson to thank for his predicament.  Pete’s so desperate, he’s willing to sell his last camera at a pawn shop.

Unwilling to let that happen, Betty Brandt floats Pete a loan so he can keep his date.  Comic misfortune follows as Pete discovers that all of his clothes except a big, ugly sweater have been sold to pay his rent.  So Pete dons the sweater and runs in the sweltering heat to the date he is already late for.

Naturally, when he arrives, he finds his date talking to Harry and MJ.  MJ busts his balls which is so uncool after the way she did him in ASM 641 (not talking about it!)  But the romantic tension is cut short when Harry’s ex shows up pursued by all those super-villains from the pro-logue.

The confrontation that follows is, well, weird.  But it was interesting.  I can honestly say I am looking forward to next issue.

Is this a return to form for the Spider-books?  I don’t know.  But it sure as hell beat the last four issues of mopey sulking that amounted to nothing!

read/RANT

6 Responses to Review: Amazing Spider-man 642

  1. YWz says:

    I also really enjoyed this book. I understand what your saying about superhero comics but I respectfully disagree. For the reasons that IT IS a superhero comic I think the fun and whimsy of such a stylized and anti-realistic art I love the art.

    As for the story: how can you not love a story that ends in Doc Ock flailing a baby around with his metal arms?

  2. lebeau says:

    On the art: I could see people eating it up. And I knew that I was partially just being pigheaded about wanting traditional superhero comics-style art in my superhero comic. But I also couldn’t get all the way past it either. So I tried to make it clear that it wasn’t necessarily bad. It just wasn’t my thing.

    Yeah, that ending was something else. And the newborn was drawn to look like a newborn (in other words, kinda gross).

  3. YWz says:

    hahaha yeah super gross.

    Yeah, I get why you wouldn’t like it. When I first saw it reminded me a lot of Love and Rockets. The only thing i will say is that the first couple pages with the villians I think had a really cool retro feel to it. Most of this story took place in civilian life so I am excited to see how Azaceta tackles a more explicitly superhero comic next.

  4. lebeau says:

    Yeah L&R was the vibe I was getting.

    Given time, it could win me over. Many a time I’ve resisted a particular style only to be won over by it in the end. Usually right before the artist leaves the book.

  5. Mondo says:

    I wanted to like it (even bought the Romita variant) – but too much back-story, which was more Charlie Brown that Peter Parker – checkout the pullover. But the art was dreadful. Peter was fat then thin, his face changed in several panels – and was unrecognisable in some scenes. Sorry not for me..

  6. […] Last issue, I was put off by the stylized art.  This issue it’s growing on me.  Which is kind of weird because it was more suited to the Peter Parker story of last issue than the insane Spider-man story in this issue. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,856 other followers

