Review: Seaguy: Slaves of Mickey Eye #3

Seaguy

As my previous reviews suggest, Seaguy: Slaves of Mickey Eye, the follow up to Morrison and Stewart’s 2004 Seaguy, has been hitting all the right notes for me.  #3, the final issue in the middle third of what Morrison planned to be a trilogy, hit the same week as Morrison’s much more high-profile Batman & Robin.  Despite being buried under the avalanche of Batman-love, as well as coming out in the same week as the always-stellar Secret Six, however, Slaves of Mickey Eye #3 was pretty handily the best comic on the shelves last week.  

In many ways completing most of the plots left dangling in the original Seaguy miniseries, this issue finds our hero in direct confrontation with Seabeard and the vast forces of Mickey Eye.  There’s love, there’s loss, there’s betrayal – the issue crams quite a bit in, all expertly illustrated by Cameron Stewart at his absolute strangest.

I’m curious to see where Morrison will take this if his proposed third miniseries ends up happening.  Even if it never does, however, Morrison’s exciting commentary on the conventions of comic books finds yet another solid resting place.  This recent mini has had very few missteps, and I’m looking forward to more.

Grade: A

- Cal Cleary

Read/RANT

5 Responses to Review: Seaguy: Slaves of Mickey Eye #3

  1. brucecastle says:

    Sigh. Still waiting on the trade. All of these damn positive reviews are making it worse. I’m saving 12 dollars. I’m saving 12 dollars. I’m saving 12 dollars.

    So, is this the best single issue of the year so far? That’s what I’ve heard.

    I still think it’ll be hard to top the first Seaguy.

    Oh, and I love how we’re all pimping our group review.

    I’ve read B & R #1 three times. It’s so brisk, fun, vibrant, and pretty.

  2. brucecastle says:

    Also, I was sad to hear of how little readers this mini has.

    Hopefully there are a lot of trade-waiters.

  3. seventhsoldier says:

    It’s a tough call to call it the issue of the year. I’m not sure if it’s the best issue of the mini, though to be fair I would definitely say that Seaguy: Slaves of Mickey Eye is pretty handily the best series of 2009, at least thus far.

  4. brucecastle says:

    Yeah, I’m not keeping track of best single issue, but I am keeping track of best story, to save me from doing all of the work I had to for my list last year.

    I’m glad to hear that this was so good, but then, how could it not be? Hopefully the trade will come out soon. I’ve already waited too long to buy the single issues.

    Of course, my favorite story thus far is the other Morrison comic, Final Crisis.

    On the recent Top 10 Morrison runs list I made for a friend, I put Final Crisis above Seven Soldiers, Seaguy, Batman, Marvel Boy, and New X-Men. So, I highly doubt that Seaguy was handily the best series of 2009.

    However, before you strangle me for liking FC more than Seven Soldiers, I’ve never read Final Crisis all the way through in one sitting yet. So, my opinion might change. Actually, and this is how quicly Top 10 Lists can change, I’d probably put SS above FC now, but who knows?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,867 other followers

