Top 5 Best Comics of May 2009!

Continuing the feature I started last month, here’s my list! I read 17 comics in May, and these were the best.

 

5. Green Lantern #41

I’m sorry. I haven’t written a review for this comic, and two others on my list, but this was a great Green Lantern issue. This issue, like most of the Johns-penned Blackest Night preludes, is packed with interesting information. On top of that, Johns continues to make Larfleeze (Larfreeze sounds so much cooler) a really interesting villain. But the absolute awesomeness of this issue can be found on the last page. Oh, what a last page.

 

4. Irredeemable #2

Oh, I love this feeling in comics. The book is new, and it just feels like the best thing ever. Ok, so Irredeemable isn’t flawless, but it’s a damn fine book. When we reflect on the man’s career, this could be the best Mark Waid comic. He’s writing the hell out of this book.

Here’s my review.

 

3. Ultimate Wolverine vs. Hulk #6

It’s sad. I think a lot of people dismissed this after the delays. I can certainly understand their reason for doing so, but if you did drop this book early, you missed out on a great series. Lindelof, while being a bit too unchained, actually wrote Wolverine and Hulk as fully fleshed-out characters. You know where they stand. And it’s so refreshing that the real “Wolverine vs. Hulk” of this series was much more psychological, instead of just a flurry of punching. Yu’s art is easy on the eyes as well.

 

2. The Walking Dead #61

Often thought of as my favorite ongoing series, instead of thinking “Will this issue be good?” I wonder “Just how good will this issue be?” This is definitely in the top-tier of The Walking Dead issues. There’s some bad stuff that happens here. If you aren’t reading this series, you should be.

Here’s my review.

 

1. Wolverine #72

Wow! Two Wolverine books in one month? That never happens! That’s because, with so many damn Wolverine books, most of them are repetitive and/or mediocre at best. But that’s exactly why “Old Man Logan” is so good. Millar takes a character that has been severely overused, and breathes some new life into him. Ok, so his actual characterization of Wolverine is more like Clint Eastwood than anything else, but this is a Wolverine story that is actually innovative. This series is packed with off-beat, fresh ideas. Oh, and Steve McNiven’s art is GORGEOUS!

So there it is! Agree? Disagree? Please, let me know!

April’s list

For more comic goodness, go here.

14 Responses to Top 5 Best Comics of May 2009!

  1. Saranga says:

    The Walking Dead cover looks somewhat similar to Preacher. Is it? if you haven’t read Preacher, go do so, now.

  2. brucecastle says:

    Ha! No, The Walking Dead is not like Preacher. If you had read that review, you’d know that this issue was the introduction of that religious character.

    However, I’m a huge Garth Ennis fan. If you check out my April picks, you’ll find The Boys on it.

  3. dclebeau says:

    Of the 5 books you’ve listed, I’ve read one of them. And it probably comes as no surprise that I think you’ve greatly over-rated Green Lantern. If I made a list of the top-five over-rated books out there, Green Lantern would top the list. Not that it’s bad. But it is by no means “awesome”.

  4. Saranga says:

    OK, I didn’t read the review, no. I prefer to jump right in and make facetious comments ;)

  5. brucecastle says:

    @Saranga: Nothing wrong with that.

    @DC: SPOILERS FOR GREEN LANTERN!

    Really? I thought you’d like that issue. Stweart played a pretty big role. Hal was barely in it, and HAL GOT HIS FUCKING ARM CUT OFF!!!!

    That’s definitely not Johns “trying to make Hal cool.”

    Oh, DC, respond to my email sometime.

    • dclebeau says:

      GL wasn’t a bad issue. It was just more of the same. Not awesome. It borrowed/stole from Lord of the Rings way to heavily to be awesome.

      I’m glad to see John get a little bit of the spotlight. It was a very tiny bit. I count 2 pages.

      Oh, and KI hate what Johns did to Fatality. In fact, I hate his entire take on the Star Sapphires.

      The Hal’s arm thing was still Johns trying too hard to be cool. Does anyone think this is going to last? Although if Johns gives Hal a hook for a hand and it lasts as long as Aquaman was one-handed, I’ll take it all back.

      And what was with the Muppets talk? Larfleeze looks nothing like Gonzo. It seemed like Johns was bending over backward to work in a Kermit joke.

  6. brucecastle says:

    “It borrowed/stole from Lord of the Rings”

    I can’t even think of what it stole. You’re too harsh on the book, but I already know that.

    John got about as much spotlight as Hal. This issue was about Larfleeze.

    T”he Hal’s arm thing was still Johns trying too hard to be cool.”

    How is getting your arm cut off cool? Now, if Hal got his arm cut off while decapitating Larfleeze with no more than a “Grrrr,” that would be Johns trying to make him cool.

    “And what was with the Muppets talk? Larfleeze looks nothing like Gonzo.”

    You’re focusing on two captions? Oh, you’re not hard on this book at all.

    “It seemed like Johns was bending over backward to work in a Kermit joke”

    And that’s bad? You don’t like Kermit now, too? Do you have a soul?

    • dclebeau says:

      “I can’t even think of what it stole.”

      Larfleeze = Golum

      “John got about as much spotlight as Hal. This issue was about Larfleeze.”

      John got two pages. Hal was in half the book. Surely, you can do the math.

      “How is getting your arm cut off cool? Now, if Hal got his arm cut off while decapitating Larfleeze with no more than a “Grrrr,” that would be Johns trying to make him cool.”

      It’s not that he was making Hal look good. It’s that Johns thought it would be “awesome” to have someone lose a limb on the last page. That’s not awesome at all. Especially since we know it’s not even going to last through next issue. That’s called trying too hard.

      Then again, he also has a kitty cat who sprays acid blood…

      “You don’t like Kermit now, too? Do you have a soul?”

      I love Kermit. But the narration was just weird. Why on earth would Hal have been thinking about the Muppets? It was out of left field.

  7. brucecastle says:

    “Larfleeze = Golum”

    Huh. It is similar, but I’m sure that Golum story is similar to something Tolkien knew. See, whenever greed is involved, I always think of “The Treasure of Sierra Madre.” So, I’m blinded to all other greedy references. I guess this is similar to the Star Wars references when Sinestro was training Hal in Secret Origins.

    “John got two pages. Hal was in half the book. Surely, you can do the math.”

    Don’t call me Surely. Yeah, but John got to fight people. Hal sat around in a room and got his arm cut off.

    “Then again, he also has a kitty cat who sprays acid blood…”

    Ha! That was awesome! We’ve been “arguing” about this a lot, so let me get this straight:

    I am not a Johns apologist. He’s not my favorite writer, probably not even in my Top 5. He has many flaws as a writer. Yes, he does do some goofy stuff in his comics, things you’re either on board for or not. This is why he’s compared to Bendis, besides being the Top King of a major publisher.

    However, I do really dig his stuff, and yes, especially Green Lantern. His comics do have heart and soul.

    Uh, probably more to say, but I’m tired. So let’s stop this fussin’ and a feudin’

    • dclebeau says:

      Yeah, our opinions on GL are probably closer than we think. But what differences of opion we have probably aren’t going to be resolved. Their just personal preference.

      (BTW, I hadn’t noticed the similarities to Treasure of the Sierra Madre in this issue. That feels more like an homage at least. The Gollum stuff was a little too spot-on for me though.)

  8. brucecastle says:

    I’m sure our opinions are. The only difference is that I’m more fond of it for personal reasons, but we’re both critics at heart.

    Oh, I don’t know how much Treasure of Sierra Madre there was. I just always think of that movie when greed destroys allies.

  9. [...] 5 Best Comics of May 2009 By dclebeau My colleague, BruceCastle, posted his top 5 for May here.   I figured I’d take a stab at creating my own list.  I should warn you, BC is a much [...]

  10. [...] Top 5 for May By seventhsoldier Everyone else is doing it, and I am nothing if not a lemming, and so I present my own Top 5 for the Month of [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,856 other followers

