Top Ten Best Comic Artists

Why this list? I don’t know; I like lists! This is something I’ve thought about for awhile, but I’ve never had the organization skills to execute this idea. Well, I stopped bothering with some things (Sure, the west half of my house is on fire, but who cares?!?) so I could finally create the awesome list you’re about to experience.

Just to be clear, these are my top ten working artists. All ten of them produced interior work on at least one comic last year. Enjoy!

null

10. Ed McGuinness

McGuinness is the Wolverine of comic artists. He’s the best there is at what he does. And what he does is draw big muscular cartoony fun! Hulk is the PERFECT book for him. The man was born to draw it. Throw in an extensive Superman (And later Batman) run and you’ve got plenty of pretty beefy heroes to look at. Did I mention that his art is a fantastic model for toys as well? Check it out! Sure, he doesn’t have much range and he’s a bit lazy, but if I ever need anyone to find a vein on my arm, I’ll go to him!

null

9. Frank Cho

After criticizing EM’s range, I put Frank Cho? Am I crazy? Maybe, but Cho does actually have some range. Go check out his Spider-Man issues with Mark Millar. Sure MJ had big boobs, but his Venom was badass. He also renders some fantastic animals. Who draws Dinosaurs and monkeys better than Frank Cho? And yes, he draws some bodacious babes, but is that really such a bad thing? Yes they’re a bit crude, but it works with an American audience. We’re a bit too uptight when it comes to the female form. Cho just puts it out there. Too preachy? I like big boobs. Better? The fact is his women are tough, sexy, and usually pretty muscular. They can kick the shit out of the men. That’s a kind of female power, right?

null

8. Steve McNiven

Good, we’re away from the cartoons. Steve McNiven is pretty new to the art scene. Ok, he’s been in the biz for about eight years, but I can count his projects with my fingers. I’ve always considered myself a fan of the man’s work, but his most recent project, Old Man Logan, is what got him on the list. Have you seen that stuff? It’s fucking epic! He’s created an entire future Marvel Universe, aged character designs, and zany stuff like a Venom T-Rex. He’s nailed them all. There’s no doubt in my mind that in ten years when fans discuss the best Wolverine artists, McNiven will be mentioned in the same sentence as Frank Miller and Barry Windsor-Smith. As if that weren’t enough, he also did a stellar job on Civil War, and whether you enjoyed that event or not, at least you were treated to some gorgeous images.

7. Tim Sale

Say what you want about Jeph Loeb, but when he and Sale get together, you get magic. I just picked up that new Daredevil Yellow hardcover a few weeks ago and Sale’s art was absolutely mystifying. His Daredevil is poetic. Sale captured the fallen hero, Battlin’ Jack Murdock, perfectly. Don’t even get me started on his Karen Page. Lois Lane, Mary Jane, Gwen Stacy, Selina Kyle, Tim Sale has rendered some of the most iconic women in comics and yet he always brings something new to the table. Sale is an expert at taking old characters, blowing off the dust, and making them look all shiny and new again.

null

6. JH Williams III

Whoa! JH Williams III is number six? How the hell did that happen? Because Williams is awesome, that’s why. He’s an artistic chameleon. If you read his three-issue arc in Batman recently, you’ll know that every member of the Club of Heroes had a different art style. El Gaucho is Howard Chaykin, The Knight and the Squire are Ed McGuinness, and so on. On top of that, Williams has some of the most interesting layouts in comic history. If you want to see some expert graphic design, Williams is your man. How he presents his art is almost as intriguing as the art itself. Heck, the only reason why Williams isn’t higher on the list is his lack of content (Or perhaps my lack of reading his content), but with an absolute Promethea volume and his long-awaited Batwoman run coming up, Williams is sure to make my top five soon.

5. John Romita Jr.

And speaking of Williams’ lack of content, here’s a man who has too much content. Romita has been in the biz for nearly three decades. That’s awesome, but what usually happens to artists over time is that their style gets boring. Not so with Romita, his style has evolved. Going from the traditional look of his Iron Man days, to the Kirby/Miller amalgam, Romita has proved that he’s still one of the best. Want proof? While some of the artists on this list (Even those ahead of him, sadly) produce only a few issues a year, Romita is the opposite. In just two years, he worked on a Neil Gaiman project for seven issues, a mega Marvel event for five, a six-issue return to Spider-Man, and an entirely new property with Mark Millar. Throw in directing part of a movie (An illustrated Kick-Ass segment) and you have one fabulous work ethic!

4. Joseph Michael Linsner

This is where you can stop calling my list predictable. What can I say? I feel a deep connection with Linsner’s work. There are times when I think he’s my favorite artist. His style is Cartoony yet realistic. Linsner’s women are cheesecake, yet independent and strong.  The man’s work is truly transcendent. I can just stare at for days and days. The Hulk is probably a poor example (Though funny), but please go check out his work. If you feel half the connection with it that I do, it’ll be a wondrous experience.

3. Alex Ross

What’s a “best comic artists” list without Alex Ross? Actually, when I was compiling this list, his name slipped my mind. Terry Dodson was on for quite a while, but eventually (Sorry Terry), an image of Kingdom Come Superman blazed across my mind. How is it, that a character that said so little and was part of so few stories can be as incredibly inspirational as Kingdom Come Superman? I blame Alex Ross. He brings such power and solitude to the grey-haired Man of Steel. It was hammered home this year; KC Superman is the symbol for the man who has unimaginable power, and yet he can’t save the ones he loves. A much bleaker ending than the one Jeph Loeb gave him in Absolute Power, but it’s still undeniably moving. Though Ross spends a little too much time rendering covers and writing nostalgic tales for my taste, Justice, Marvels and Kingdom Come are so well-crafted that he easily earns a spot on the list.

2. Frank Quitely

Remember what I said about Sale and Loeb being magic? Well, that goes triple for Grant Morrison and Frank Quitely. See that picture above? Why did I choose that instead of something like New X-Men and All Star Superman? Because you already know those are great, but you may have never heard of We3. You should definitely read it because it’s fantastic, and that’s what every project is that Quitely works on. His art is truly unique and I mean that in the best possible way. Quitely handles everything, action, facial expressions, and emotion, all of it, like the master he is. The only reason Quitely isn’t number one is because his art has greatly evolved into marvelous beauty within the last five years. My number one, however, has always been at the top of his game.

null

1. Jim Lee

I never thought Jim Lee would be my number one. It makes sense; Batman is my favorite hero, so it’s only natural that the quintessential Batman artist is my favorite. Lee has always demonstrated greatness. Whether your first experience was X-Men, WildC.A.T.s, Batman, or even way back to Punisher War Journal, you were probably impressed. He’s worked on a few bad projects, sure. That won’t stop you from gazing at his beautiful interiors though. Why do you think All Star Batman and Robin is a best-seller? Its gloriously groundbreaking dialogue? I think not. Whether the words accompanying his art were good or not, I’ve always enjoyed Lee’s renderings immensely.

So there’s the list. I doubt you’ll agree completely. “Good art” is purely opinionated. I only wish that if you haven’t heard of one of these talented men (Why isn’t Amanda Conner on the list?), you’ll go check them out. Hopefully, you’re in for a treat.

-Bruce Castle

57 Responses to Top Ten Best Comic Artists

  1. gdaybloke says:

    Will I b eexcommunicated if I admit that I’ve never really been a fan of JRjr’s art? Oddly enough, I have a real soft spot for Juan Bobillo

  2. I’m with you on McNiven, Quitely, and Ross…but what about Amanda Conner, Richard Corben, Kevin Huizenga, Craig Russell, Dave Sim, and Chris Ware?

  3. brucecastle says:

    @gdaybloke: Wow! I remember you from vsrealms! So long ago…there’s nothing wrong with disliking JRJR, especially nowadays. His work has gotten very stylized. As I believe I mentioned, it’s a combination of Frank Miller and Jack Kirby. If you don’t like either of those artists, odds are you don’t like JRJR.

    You may be excommunicated if you admit you dislike Jack Kirby. :)
    Thanks for reading!

    @Cognitive: Well, Amanda Conner I mentioned (Kind of honorable mention), I think with her it comes down to lack of content. I’ve only read The Pro and that brief JSA arc. I will read Terra and Power Girl in trade. I adore Connor’s art, but her name completely escaped me until I realized I only put male artists on the list. If she’s on Power Girl for a long time, or, preferably, she starts working with other writers (No disrespect to her husband, I may put her on my list someday. Although I have to say, McGuinness is a tough threshold to penetrate.

    I like Richard Corben. If you click that Frank Cho art at the top of the page, you can find my “Top Ten Comics of 2008″ list. I put Hellboy: The Crooked Man on there and I complimented Corben’s art. He’s just not on my list.

    Kevin Huizenga, Craig Russell, Dave Sim, and Chris Ware are guys I don’t have much experience with. I’ve heard of them, but I’ve only encountered their work a couple of times, sorry.

    Thanks for reading!

  4. Well, and hear me out completely, I don’t really like Kirby. Kirby, like the Beatles, is someone who everybody praises over and over again, and I believe it is because nobody had ever quite done what he did. I’ll admire that he did a lot, and that it helped to define how superheroes are drawn, but I just don’t like it. It is too flat, and awkward. Faces are horrible, the poses are awkward (half the people can fly, in that their legs are never on the ground while running), and it kind of annoys me how everyone praises him, when I don’t see his art as all that good. Now, he helped to create lots of great characters, and he helped define other artists and art styles, and I commend him for that, but I just don’t like his art in and of itself.

    • Anonymous says:

      Jack Kirby drew well detailed artwork that’s better than even most of the artists in Marvel comics/DC comics. I’ve look at his story work and covers they are great. The coloring might look old but he wasn’t the colorist. Jack Kirby’s work matches any of the best comic book artists work. You should look at his work. I don’t agree that he changed comic books but that he made famous characters.

  5. Anonymous says:

    wow. what a… uninspired list. this is not a Top Ten Best Comic Artists list. it’s more a My Favorite Comic Book Artists at This Moment list. nothing wrong with that, though, don’t get me wrong. you’re entitled to your own, but one look at this lot and i can’t help to wonder why it’s so limited? i can barely tell the difference between mcguinness, mcniven, and linsner. quite glad tim sale, quitely, and williams are recognized as fantastic artists, as they rightly are. as for jim lee as numero uno, well, all i can do is ask why? “lee has always demonstrated greatness.” wha-wha-wha???

  6. brucecastle says:

    @Pi: Well, without looking up the details, I do know that Kirby’s schedule was much more hectic than any other artist working today. You know how artists can only have one project at a time, and some artists only come out with a comic once a year if that? Well, Kirby worked on several projects every month. I heard he did something like five books a month at one point. So, hopefully you’ll be a bit more forgiving the next time you notice something “horrible” or “awkward”. Kirby is also admired, as I’m sure you know, for the hundreds of beloved characters he created. He was working at the dawn of comics and was still producing fantastic work in the 70′s (Possibly even 80′s). Just curious, what old artists do you like?

    @Anonymous: “Just to be clear, these are my top ten working artists. All ten of them produced interior work on at least one comic last year.”

    Doesn’t that imply a “My Favorite Comic Book Artists at This Moment list”? As for the slightly uniformed look, we all like certain traits, right? Whatever the topic, we all tend to gravitate towards certain features. Also, are you familiar with McGuinness, Linsner, and McNiven or are you just judging from my pictures? I could see some possible cartoony similarities between McGuinness and Linsner, but McNiven is pretty different. As for Lee, it’s mostly personal, as it should be. Quitely will probably be numero uno soon.

  7. So quantity trumps quality? Interesting. I mentioned the characters also. Seriously, though, I can accept that he was important, but I just don’t like his art. From that time period, there isn’t much that I actually like. Romita Sr. is the first artist I really like (just from Spider-Man continuity), so yeah, I dislike Ditko also. It isn’t necessarily anything against them, just that the time period didn’t produce much art that I liked. I don’t know the entire vast array of artists from the time, so I can’t really comment on who I liked. Again, I understand that his art was important, that he did a lot of it, and that he helped create iconic characters, but the art style just isn’t appealing to me.

  8. brucecastle says:

    Hmm, at first I thought you were saying that I thought quantity trumps quality, and perhaps that’s the case, but maybe you were saying that other people think that way. I do believe that many people value quantity over quality; I may not agree with it, but I certainly understand that POV. What you may not realize, although I thought it was obvious due to my smiley face, is that I was joking about Kirby with Bloke. I do like Kirby. He was a brilliant mind that almost contributed more from a writer’s standpoint than an artistic one.

    It’s fine if you dislike Kirby’s art. I only wish you would respect him, but you don’t even have to do that. It seems that you’re not too big a fan of artists and perhaps even writers from before your time. That’s cool. Art certainly looks better now due to technology. It also helps that artists are finally getting the recognition and time that they deserve. Again, something you should consider is that many artists today are treated like celebrities. They’re in the spotlight, making movies and TV shows and you have to stand in line for hours to meet them. Kirby never had that treatment. Up until his winter years, it was mostly kids who knew his work, but they probably didn’t even know his name.

  9. The writing is silly, but okay. I thought it could be a joke, but either way, it is a pet peeve when someone is praised constantly for work that I don’t think deserves it and gets no negative feedback. Morrison, Loeb, they both get negative feedback, as well as positive. Kirby gets nothing but praise for work I don’t like or think is good. I love classic comics for the simpler stories that are fun. I have every Essential Spider-Man (and the first Peter Parker, the Spectacular Spider-Man) and Essential X-Men (including the Classic/Original), and love them. Art does look better today, but is technology really the driving force? I mean, I guess cartoony styles that I like weren’t used as much then (but they take much less effort and little to no technology a lot of the time). Oh well.

  10. brucecastle says:

    Uh, I’m really tired right now, so pardon me if I sound drunk.

    I’m sure there are several, even hundreds, who despise Kirby’s work. Some of those people could even be the ones who publically praise him, but it is a no-no in the comic world to bad-mouth Kirby because he’s one of the founding fathers. Do you ever hear people hate on George Washington?

    Technology is a pretty impressive force. I don’t want to say driving, but it’s a hell of a thing. Guys like Greg Horn and Greg Land (And maybe every other artist named Greg) would be nothing without the computer. But I also meant that there are certain modern styles that you’re accustomed to. So when you gaze upon old art, it can be jarring.

  11. Anonymous says:

    how about a top ten writers?

  12. Anonymous says:

    I’ll see what I can do.

    Thanks for reading!

  13. brucecastle says:

    Whoops! That was me.

  14. kyle says:

    terrible list…. like your reviews… appreciate them… but your taste in art is wrong. Jim Lee? seriously? Linsner?

  15. brucecastle says:

    How can an art list be terrible? Art is like humor, it’s all personal. Linsner and Lee are personal faves of mine. Surely, you must like someone on the list?

    Well, you’ll be happy to know that I’m more writing-focused anyway. Sorry to disappoint on the art. Thanks for reading.

  16. bj says:

    send me best work s on comics but i tell uiam going to shock the world

  17. Shane Butler says:

    Eh hello, John Cassaday?

  18. brucecastle says:

    Heh.

    This list would look completely different if I did it now, but Cassady still wouldn’t be on the list.

    To be fair, I haven’t read Planetary.

  19. How oh how could you forget John Byrne?

  20. Thebestone. says:

    No i could beat them all easily. Most you have are not the legends anyway and they too i could be. I’m serious about this. You forgot to credit the colorist, inker.

  21. Thebestone. says:

    Art is not personal because ith art its either you can draw really well, immensily or you can’t becaused you praticed enough or you stink cause you don’t pratice much. If you have bad taste you haven’t developed a keen eye and aren’t really interested in art but the story lines or you follow a trend.

  22. Thebestone. says:

    Art is not personal because ith art its either you can draw really well, immensily becaused you praticed enough or you stink cause you don’t pratice much. If you have bad taste you haven’t developed a keen eye and aren’t really interested in art but the story lines or you follow a trend.

  23. Thebestone. says:

    Joe Maduriera, Angel Medina, Adam-andy kurbert, Neil adams, john byrne, john buscema, Jim Lee are the top artists who have more artistic skills than these mentioned.

  24. Thebestone. says:

    forgot Claudio Castellini

  25. Thebestone. says:

    I seriously do not know why someone would not consider jim lee in your list since you can draw better than they in poses and action. Really weird. I don’t like him that much but to say he stinks is way off.

  26. Thebestone. says:

    brucecastle its kind true. But the real problem is that Kirby didn’t change anything or contribute besides the marvel characters. Just as DC along with superman and batman didn’t start comic books or change how they were made or produce. Comic book existed before them and I’m sure there were alot of people that could draw like Kirby during that time. Its only that his comic became famous along with stan lees help and super action cartoons existed when superman comics started.

  27. Thebestone. says:

    To be honest there are alot of artist who shouldn’t be in the comic book business and most who should be but never get hired. It has to do with connections.

  28. Matt136 says:

    You must be pretty young. This list is dreadfully incomplete for the most part. Where is Frank Miller, Art Adams, Mike Mignolia, Jack Kirby, Michael Golden, Bob Kane, Steve Ditko, John Byrne, Mike Allred, Frank Frazeta, and a bunch of other artists who are vastly superior and are more important to comic book history. Frank Cho, Tim Sale, and Alex Ross are excellent. Jim Lee is simply terrible. He wouldn’t make a top 100 list of anyone well versed in comic book art. There are plenty comprehensive collected graphic novels of these legendary artists to get caught up with. Check them out if you want.

    • You have a seasoned eye for talent, but he did say he was only considering those whom have had a print in the past year. I myself grew up with Lee’s X-Men, and am personally missing McFarlane, Silvestri, and few other from that era. but Lee was always the fav, and goes to see why his pen has endured til now and favored here. To add, I bet he well aware of much of what you mentioned to’em, seems to know his stuff and enjoying it to. Still you have a good point to mention the shadow of greats out there that have graced the imaginations of generations.

  29. brucecastle says:

    Good God this blew up with replies. I mean, it’s always pretty popular, but this is ridiculous.

    Just a general comment towards everybody who care:

    1. You should read the post before criticizing. As I said, “Just to be clear, these are my top ten working artists. All ten of them produced interior work on at least one comic last year. Enjoy!” So all those people crying about Bryne and Kirby look silly.

    2. Lists shouldn’t be taken this seriously. If they’re ever-changing for me, they certainly shouldn’t be treated like some sort of definitive thing.

    3. This list desperately needs to be updated. Not only for another chance to showcase other artists I like, but to properly post images to fit our new format. I might just edit this one, since it’s already so damn popular.

    And don’t forget to check out the main page, folks!

    http://readrant.wordpress.com/

    Thanks for reading!

  30. Thebestone. says:

    I know that frank miller, salvador laccora, chris pachelo, x-man artist can remember his name and 90′s cable artist. left out intentionally out because they are good but i just didn’t like there art work and or it needed more improvement. Art adams i forgot. There were some good comic book artists that worked on the 90′s or earlier uncanny x-men and giant sized, amazing spiderman, sensational spiderman issue which names i could remember but they weren’t that popular and did few issues. Sorry but alex ross is not really good. Hes uses references of pictures to draw his comics. Matt i don’t know how you would think jim lee is terribe and below the artists you mentioned. I don’t like Jim Lee. I never even heard of those people. What decade are they from except for john byrne. Mike deodato i don’t consider a legend. Most new artist arent that good and stink. Most are cover drawers or pose drawers meaning they can’t tell a story or put action into their comics, character movement and their are millions out there that can do the same but aren’t hire or some are superb at making comic books but are ignored and not hired. It all depends on connections, sucking up and getting to know those who work in Marvel or DC comics.

  31. Nearedge says:

    you meant carlos pacheco not chris pachelo unless you were trying to say chris claremont.

  32. supermanpower says:

    I’m sorry to put this on your website but Best Artwork of Superheroes from the Most Talented Comic Artists … is a biased website. Its artists have done only one time hit wonder drawings but that doesn’t mean that person is a great or the best comic book artist. If you can do repeated or various characters with different poses with immense detail you are the best comic book artists. He/she has forgotten to credit the colorist and inker and compare the drawing not the coloring in the picture. He/she doesn’t let me post things on there website a reason I’m posting it here.

  33. Mr. A says:

    Seriously? This can’t be the top ten. Have you even heard of some of the comic greats like Will Eisner, Neal Adams, John Buscema, or Kirby. I agree with some of the above comments. This is more of a These artists are who I like for the next 4 months. Jim Lee can’t even stand close to Jack Kirby’s art. And as for work ethic, Kirby was drawing 75 pages of outstanding art in one month at one point of his career. Around 14 issues a year doesn’t compare to that. These people have barely made an impact in comics, while some of the legends continue to inspire.

  34. Anonymous says:

    at this webiste ”best-artwork-of-superheroes-from-the-most-talented-comic-artists/” is a hoax

    this guy needs to figure out what a comic book artist and a fine artist is. Just because you can draw a pose of a character doesn’t mean you’re a comic book artist. A real comic book artist can tell a story thru drawing. He put some drawings/painting sand called those artist the best comic book artist. Yeah right. Any fine artist can do that and he even forgot to credit the colorist and inker.

  35. Ali says:

    WOW. I stumbled upon this by chance but had to post. I only like half of your choices but not for a second do I feel inclined to rage at you for your PERSONAL CHOICES! I know geeks, as a people, are prone to superfluous rants over… oh… anything, but get a freakin’ grip people.

    Even after he clarifies about his choices being alive and currently employed you still freak out on no Kirby, etc… And even still, SO WHAT?! These are his personal choices, reflecting his personal taste. Why is this so difficult to comprehend? No wonder comic fans are so often tossed at the tail end of the geek spectrum. Pathetic.

  36. themightyboosh says:

    Let me start by saying Mr.A you are a just an echo of things already said. It seems half the people that commented didn’t get the point of this. I can’t be sure cause I only skimmed through the comments but I’m pretty sure no one mentioned Eduardo Risso. Which to me should get any “comic fan” pimp smacked from Texas to Istanbul. I mean come on 100 Bullets!! Risso is easily way better then anyone on this list or any artist list for that matter. Good night I win.

  37. Mr hyde says:

    JIM LEE THE FIIIIIRRRRST its a joke?.

  38. Dash says:

    jim lee the best. the mongul of comic artist..no1 does batman like he.

  39. JayJayK says:

    Think this a good list TBH…only people I would have included on it would have been Dale Keown, Todd McFarlane and Whilce Portacio. Dale Keown is the greatest though, without doubt! :)

  40. scorpy says:

    may be in future my name will be enlisted here too :)

  41. Tom Stevens says:

    I myself am a big Jim Lee fan, and here’s how you know… back around 1990 I traded ASM #’s 298,299, and 300 to a comic shop for back issues of Alpha Flight. Yes, that is a true story. If Jim did it, I wanted it, and even though I sold all my comics long ago/started up again a few years ago, I want them all again. (Though not as badly… going more for complete series now than artwork.)

    So here is my list, short reason why. You will notice that past X-Men artists are prominent, the simple reason for me is that at some point Marvel moved prominent artists to that title, and I sure enjoyed it. ;}

    *One of my least liked artists is Todd McFarlane. While he has a distinct and detailed art style, I was not a fan of it due to its ‘cartoonish’ look. (Made it really easy to trade the ones mentioned above.)

    **Rob Liefeld is my second least favored artist. What started out as promise turned to complete ass. Still hoping no one ever tries to duplicate his stupidity by thinking artists don’t need writers. :P

    ***Honorable Mentions: Neal Adams, Jack Kirby, Rick Leonardi, Barry Windsor-Smith, and Gary Frank. Neal and Jack hardly need to have me say anything that hasn’t already been said. Rick and Barry were favorites for having great, unique styles, and Gary was favorite because he had a very nice style, talking his early days with The Incredible Hulk.

    #10 Dale Keown: I luv Jeff Purves, the way he could draw The Hulk to go with Peter David’s writing style (humor)… but Keown added a whole new dimension. It could be light-colored or dark pages, Keown made great art… and it was funny, too. ;)

    #9 Paul Smith: Quite different from the rest of the artists, he had a great way of drawing characters that wasn’t too circular or straight. His X-men work was also very detailed, some of the best I’ve ever seen.

    #8 John Buscema: While his work on Wolverine vol. 2 was good, his work that really got me was in The Avengers. The way John could bring out the emotion in characters without having to open their jaws to stupid proportions (like todays artists) is one of many reasons I luv his work.

    #7 Walt Simonson: A very angular artist, Walt is one of the more visually spectacular artists. He somehow takes ‘rough’ and makes it look normal. From Thor, to X-Factor, to the Fantastic Four, his style was consistent and consistently great.

    #6 Mike Zeck: The king of bad-ass covers. Mike did good work, not great, inside the book… but when he has a little more time I’ll take him to do a cover over Alex Ross any day. See: Captain America Annual #8 and Marvel Super Heroes Secret Wars #10.

    #5 John Byrne: The Gold Standard of comics artists when it comes to longevity and consistency. You can tell that John had a thing for ‘circular’, but damn, he made it look good. Between UXM and FF, few will have as big an impact on the artists of the comic book world.

    #4 Marc Silvestri: Silvestri is one of the big three ‘bronze age masters’ to me. His unique style, somewhat rounded but still enough linear, was awesome at the beginning. His later style of ‘big upper bodies and chicken legs below’ knocked him down a few pegs in my book.

    #3 Alan Davis: You knew he was British even before you read his bio… just look at the detail, the exacting figures, the clean style. And I love him for it. UXM Annual #11 was the first work of his I saw, and cemented my becoming a comic fanboy. One of the few artists who also gets better with age.

    #2 Art Adams: Simply put… awesome. I know Art spends more than the usual amount of time to put out his work, but the proof is in the pudding, or more accurately, in the detail. The characters take on a whole new life, a whole new look, without looking reinvented! If you haven’t seen the so-called ‘Asgardian Wars’, check out Alpha Flight & X-Men 1 and 2 (Paul Smith on the art) and New Mutants (vol.1) Special #1 and UXM Annual #9 (Art Adams on the art)… great stuff.

    #1 Jim Lee: The King of the Bronze Age and Beyond. From his humble beginnings in AF you might have thought,”Same ol’, same ol’… looks like everyone else.” But then in PWJ you see his style change, and in the AF covers he did concurrently. It was quickly becoming more fleshed out, with a soft but angular edge, without going off into the left-field of post-modernist comic art (a la Mignola). I do have to knock him for one thing, and that’s his usage of the same format time and again. While I have no doubt that he doesn’t enjoy the time to evolve his art due to his other duties with being a writer/publisher/whatnot, he definitely could have been 10 times bigger than any other artist if he had kept to the pencil and not stretched himself with other duties.

    With this list I don’t want people to think,”Aww, this guy’s stuck in the 80′s!” I some of the artists of today, and the 60′s-70′s, 2000′s and beyond… but for the most part the 80′s was the time of breakout for artists in the comics medium. The detail that could be put in, the different styles and to have your OWN style, while keeping a clean, viewable picture on a page. Non of this Mike Allred crap of ‘minimalist art’ that showed nothing, gave nothing to the viewer. Even the latest artists seem to have this problem, though not nearly as bad. Some are very good, like Leinil Yu, or Jimmy Cheung. Of course, near as I can tell, the stories today seem to be lacking, as much as the art.

    -T. Stevens

    • leroy says:

      greetings man. i am writting a comic book, and i am in search of someone to do the graphic work.i am a writer at creative publishing & management. we may can do business.

  42. Tom Stevens says:

    Some more of the classic artists I revere: Dave Cockrum, Ron Lim, Sal Buscema, Kevin Nowlan, Michael Golden, Frank Brunner, Jeff Purves, Frank Miller, Jim Starlin, Mark Bright (from Iron Man and Green Lantern fame).

    The Disliked and Hated: Mike Allred, Frank Quitely, Brett Blevins, Jon Bogdanove, Todd McFarlane.

    *Mike Mignola is somewhere between. His early stuff was cool, especially the covers for issues of AF and The Defenders… then he started in on the angular post-modernistic artsy-fartsy crap. I’ll say he gets purgatory. ;}

  43. Anonymous says:

    Are you crazy!?By no stretch of the imagination are these individuals “The top ten artist”.

  44. Keyword4 says:

    Keyword4…

    [...]Top Ten Best Comic Artists « read/RANT![...]…

  45. Fantasie Swimwear…

    [...]Top Ten Best Comic Artists « read/RANT![...]…

  46. Anonymous says:

    what about mike deodato I think he’s much better than most of the artist mentioned here.

  47. DD+ Swimwear says:

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. appreciate it

  48. Where did you actually end up getting the suggestions to
    compose ““Top Ten Best Comic Artists read/RANT!
    ”? Thanks -Mari

  49. I really intend to bookmark this particular posting,
    “Top Ten Best Comic Artists read/RANT!” on my own webpage.
    Would you care in case I personallydo it? Thanks ,Kaylee

    • xxadverbxx says:

      The poster Bruce has not really been with read/RANT since DC relaunched. As a current member here though, I’ll give permission as long as credit is given to Bruce, and you link back somewhere to either this specific post or read/RANT’s main page.

  50. Jigme says:

    Quique alcatena,jim lee and francis leinil yu.my favourites XD

  51. Gernot says:

    Boy! I’m REALLY old-school! My Top 10 are:

    10) Curt Swan
    09) Irv Novick
    08) Gil Kane
    07) Carmine Infantino
    06) Steve Ditko
    05) Lou Fine
    02) George Perez
    03) Jose Garcia Lopez Jr.
    02) Alan Moore
    01) Neal Adams

    Heh. I haven’t been able to buy comics in quite a while, but I haven’t even HEARD of most of the guys on your list! LOL :)

  52. um….exuse me u forgot Jim davis?!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,965 other followers

