Foilball’s Review Roundup #35 – Your Regularly Scheduled Programming

Jack of Fables #23 (****)

Again, not as funny as usual, but Willingham is telling some back story here so I guess I’ll allow it. Jack may not be as funny as usual, but he’s still the biggest asshole in the world. He kills the gun store clerk for selling all his silver bullets, threatens the sheriff, threatens to kill his own men… all that and he’s only in this issue for less than five pages. The majority of the plot deals with Bigby making a mess of the town saloon, killing five people and maiming half a dozen others. What the hell, dude. You call that keeping a low profile? At the end of the book, Bigby decides that in order to catch up to Jack, he’ll have to wolf-out and bark at the moon. That’s not very fair, especially since Jack only managed to get his hands on one silver bullet. Question: How many silver bullets does it take to kill a wolf-man? Second part: Is it okay that Willingham is mixing mythologies here, crossing the Big Bad Wolf with traditional werewolves?

Mythos: Captain America #1 (***)

I’m not even sure why this book exists beyond being a marketing tool for the main title. It doesn’t really tell a compelling origin story instead it acts as an illustrated Wikipedia entry. I had this weird feeling all throughout reading this, like I was waiting for the plot to start. It never did. There is no plot. Not to say it’s badly written because it’s not. Not for what it is anyway. I’m one of the biggest Cap fans you will ever find and even I didn’t think this was essential reading, so I don’t think I can really recommend this one to anybody. Hmm, yet I still give it three stars… probably because I liked this cover so much, we’re using it in Marvel Evolution. SPOILER!

Thor: Reign of Blood #1 (*****)

I stopped in the middle of writing this review to go for a walk around the old neighborhood. I haven’t done that in years, since High School maybe. Anyway, the reason I bring this up is because when I got back, I saw that Desiato had already posted everything I wanted to say about this book, but MORE and BETTER. So, I deleted what little I had written and wrote this stupid/lame paragraph of inner shame. However, I did save a little of what I wrote. For those interested, click below:

Asshole Thor, Whiny Loki, Lascivious Odin and Scorching Hot Frost Giant… file these under things I like…

Quick Hits:
Angel: After The Fall #9 (**): And we are back to suck. The art is just TOO bad. TOO TOO TOO bad. Distractingly bad. Didn’t I drop this POS?
The Man With No Name #2 (*): I was wondering what happened to this book. I reviewed the first issue and if I remember correctly, the review wasn’t that bad. But this issue? This issue is bad.
She-Hulk #30 (*): Peter David… why? Why do you hate?
Ultimate Fantastic Four #55 (*): Oh man, I feel like I just ate bad Chinese.
War Is Hell: The First Flight of The Phantom Eagle #4 (****): This books keeps getting better the longer it runs. Oh shit, only one issue to go.
Wolverine: Origins #26 (***1/2): Um, not much to say. Way reveals Daken’s origin story and we kind of feel bad. And then Logan tortures some American-Japanese. What a jerk.

7 Responses to Foilball’s Review Roundup #35 – Your Regularly Scheduled Programming

  1. capspud says:

    Holy crap… please tell me you’re using that Thor cover too, that’s the best piece of cover art I’ve seen since that “glowy pink Ultron on the mecha-crapper” one.

    @_@

  2. Billy Zonos says:

    i wish we were, but if we do need some good Thor art, that one is on the top of the list.

  3. brucecastle says:

    Hey I wrote a review on Thor too damn it! Oh well, at least you gave it 5 stars unlike desiato. And you posted links, you didn’t post my favorite links but oh well you give the people a reason to pick it up and be surprised. Yes, Ultimate Fantastic Four sucked. Please Marvel, please kill it. Or at least get a better writer. Some people say Carey’s X-Men is good but it doesn’t matter because his Ult FF is terrible!

  4. prof_dresser says:

    Ouch, looks like you got hit by a big old cluster of suck this week. But is that tempered by the books that you really liked this week, or do those only make the suck of those four books more glaringly apparant?

    I’m torn about War is Hell. On one hand I appreciate that it’s a five issue mini, because it allows for more focused storytelling, when there’s an end in sight. But on the other hand, I want to buy MORE of it! *sigh* Not like there’s anything I can do about it. :P

  5. You’re only complaining about the *art* on Angel? As bad as the art’s been, the story is possibly even worse. I will congratulate you, however, on lasting one more issue than I did. Your pain tolerance must be incredible.

  6. Billy Zonos says:

    @ crosspatch: the last few “origin story” issues have been decent, and that’s mostly because the art has been fair to good. i actually wouldn’t mind the plot if the regular series artist had talent.

    but yes, overall, the book is bad, and yes, i do have a high pain threshold for TEH suck.

  7. Billy Zonos says:

    @prof: no, the suck is ONLY more apparent.

    i think Ennis will be doing a series of these “War Is Hell” minis, so the fun’s not over yet!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,867 other followers

